Term Dates

Term Dates 2019 are as follows:

Term 1 – Tuesday 29 January to Friday 12 April
Term 2 - Monday 29 April to Friday 5 July
Term 3 – Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September
Term 4 – Monday 14 October to Thursday 5 December


  • newsletter logo

On 4 November, the Dorothy Winstone Centre was filled with parents, staff, Board of Trustee members, special guests from Tertiary Institutions and our senior students for our Annual Senior Prizegiving Assembly. The ceremony began with a welcome powhiri from our Kapa Haka Group, Nga Tumanako o Kahurangi.

Our Principal, Ms Thomson’s, presented our school’s annual report on the progress of the school and students. This was Ms Thomson’s last Senior Prizegiving as Principal, as she is retiring at the end of this year and at the end of her presentation she was given a standing ovation.
The top academic awards in any school are the awards of Proxime Accessit and Dux and this year our Proxime Accessit is Victoria Murphy and our Dux is Ngan Gian Vuong.

At the end of the ceremony, our 2016 Head Girl, Tamiel Tagaloa and Deputy Head Girls, Nina Santos and Tamkeen Saeid gave moving addresses and these were followed by a rousing rendition of our School Song. 

Year 13 Grants and Scholarships

A number of our Year 13 students also received significant scholarships and awards – these included:
A Russel McVeagh Scholarship and the Louise Gardner Trust Scholarship, which pays all fees of an undergraduate degree awarded to Deputy Head Girl, Tamkeen Saeid

Six University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarships to
Vivien Chaan who will be studying Bio-Medical Science or Engineering
Bisma Maryam – Bio Medical Science
Priya Patel – Engineering
Tamiel Tagaloa - Health Science
Sophie Yu – Bio-Medical Science
Paulina Bentley was awarded a University of Auckland Pacific Academic Scholarship

Three students were awarded University of Auckland Academic Potential Scholarships
Salma Sanad will be studying Engineering
Tamkeen Saeid Law and Arts
Patricia Paynter Commerce

Ally Orr was awarded an AUT University Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship

Two students were awarded an Otago University Maori and Pacific Peoples’ Entrance Scholarship
Jiavra Cohen and Aniwa Codrye

Foa Samuelu was awarded a Waikato University Future Pacific Leaders Scholarship

From our Video Library

Upcoming Events


17.10.2019 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Senior students Parent Teacher Evening


25.10.2019 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm
Sports Prizegiving


29.10.2019 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Board of Trustees Meeting


30.10.2019 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Kahurangi Whanau Hui


04.11.2019 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Year 9 Science Virtual Reality Day